American Gods TV Series Green Lit with Concept Art and Synopsis

american-gods

Recently Starz Network cable channel recently green lit the Neil Gaiman novel American Gods as a new TV series to be helmed by Hannibal’s showrunner Bryan Fuller with Everwood’s Michael Green who will write the series for Starz. Gaiman is also reported to be an Executive Producer. Starz has also recently released a plot synopsis for the upcoming series:

“The plot posits a war brewing between old and new gods: the traditional gods of biblical and mythological roots from around the world steadily losing believers to an upstart pantheon of gods reflecting society’s modern love of money, technology, media, celebrity and drugs. Its protagonist, Shadow Moon, is an ex-con who becomes bodyguard and traveling partner to Mr. Wednesday, a conman but in reality one of the older gods, on a cross-country mission to gather his forces in preparation to battle the new deities.”

I’m not caught up with all of Hannibal and I have not seen Everwood so I can’t give my full opinions on my thoughts of having Fuller and Green on the project, however I’ve heard nothing but great things about Hannibal so I have faith in Fuller at least. The real curious thing is the synopsis. It’s a very strange concept and very intriguing at the same time. It’s clearly a fantasy type of series but to what extent. When reading it, I felt a small sense of Supernatural even though the two seem to be very different. I do love Greek gods and those characters which is why I am interested in this project. The new and old aspect is also a great idea, I’m always interested in how modern day culture effects the older generations and who is really the greater generation. Not knowing any of the new gods, I immediately side with the old gods, mostly because I know them better, but if they can take the old gods and twist new modern versions out of them then I’m all for it. The character’s Wednesday and Shadow will obviously be the focus, but we really don’t know anything of their journey other than gathering forces so I can’t give a good opinion of story as much as I can about the concept. That said, I’m super excited based on the concept alone and can’t wait to see more. Earlier today, Fuller released two pieces of concept art for the series here:

american-gods-concept-artamerican-gods-bone-orchard-concept-art

I won’t go into these concept pieces too much just because there’s not enough to talk about with them, but these only made me even more excited. The older car in the first poster with whatever god, probably Zeus, coming out of the sky is fantastic. The art is amazing and I want the poster to hang on my wall because it looks so cool. I do hope tat they set this series in the 50’s-70’s just based on the look of the car. Not everything needs to be super modern, but I’ll be fine either way. The second piece of art is creepy and eerie. What I want from this series is places like this forest that are explored with a deeper biblical meaning with twists and great visuals. I’m probably more looking forward to the world than I am the characters, but overall I’m even more excited for this series. Hopefully they start filming this year, so that we maybe get a Spring or Summer release next year.

Leave a Reply

